Newhaven

This church sits on the hill overlooking the old town of Newhaven and the estuary of the River Ouse.  The town was originally called Meeching and was renamed as Newhaven when the port was moved across the river from Seaford.

Return to top of page

Headstone of George WOOLGAR & Maria ADAMS

This headstone can be found in the churchyard of St. Michael and All Angels, Newhaven.  Today, it is laid flat and is part of an overgrown path which runs along the back of the modern church hall and a hedge.  The inscription reads:

"Sacred to the memory of George Woolgar who died 8th Novr 1851 aged 59 years
Also of Maria his widow who died 1st Octr 1868 aged 68 years
'Boast not thyself of tomorrow
For thou knowest not what a day may bring forth' "

A transcript of the Will of George WOOLGAR of Newhaven can be seen on the Wills page.

 

Return to top of page
Last updated 07 January 2006
© Marion Woolgar